Eight Cardinals Honored By Landmark Conference

Eight Cardinals Honored by Landmark Conference


WASHINGTON-- Eight women's lacrosse players were honored recently by the Landmark Conference for their strong performances throughout the 2009 season.

Led by Kate Robinson (Emmitsburg, Md./Catoctin) and Mary Swarthout (Rockville, Md./Our Lady of Good Counsel), who were individually honored as the Landmark Conference Player and Rookie of the Year, respectively, CUA marked a conference leading eight players on the all-conference team, including five first team honorees.

Melissa Brashear (Pittsburgh, Pa./Oakland Catholic), Lindsay Bitonti (North Potomac, Md./Our Lady of Good Counsel), and Katie Buonpastore (Lansdale, Pa./Lansdale Catholic) join Robinson and Swarthout on the Landmark Conference first team while Becky Borrell (Oreland, Pa./Mt. St. Joseph Academy), Caroline Taltavull (Gaithersburg, Md./Gaithersburg) and Laura Haring (Mt. Sinai, N.Y./Mt. Sinai) earned second team laurels.

For the second straight season, CUA won the Landmark Conference title and earned an NCAA bid.  During the NCAA playoffs, the Cardinals made a run to their second consecutive regional final but fell to Salisbury.

View: Mobile | Desktop